Sage pesto


Hello world!

I’ve finally started writing about the biggest love affair of my life…ok wait – the biggest love after the love of my beloved and baby boy – and the love of the written word!

Anyway, I am very pleased in a dead-chuffed kind of a way to be blogging about fooooooooood, glorious foooooooooood!

Hope you enjoy.

We have a sage plant courtesy of my mama that she bought from an organic farmer. We (and by that I mean my beloved) planted it out in our garden about a month ago.  My sage plant is doing very well.  Prolifically, actually!

In light of that, and the fact that something else has decided it’s lunch (little curly indentations on the juiciest leaves) I’ve decided it’s time to preserve some.

Hey pesto!

Grab 3 handsful of sage, (my hands are large so that means a  large cup) – minus stems, then stick that in the food processor with about 1/3 of a cup  prefered nuts.  I used pecans.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Your sage pesto will be fine in the fridge for at least a week.  Top it up with olive oil every time you’ve scooped some out to increase the longevity.  Or freeze it. I’ve never tried because we fly through pesto in our house! The experts say it ought to last about a month in the freezer, though.

Straight after making the pesto I made a chicken mayo on rye and mixed a teaspoon into the mix.  It was delicious!  I’m also going to try it with a 3 mushroom fettucine… (wholewheat pasta I made myself – keep you posted!)

What would you do with your sage pesto?  Pray do let me know…

And remember:  PASSION IS THE ALCHEMY.

One thought on “Sage pesto

Leave a Reply

