Word Hunger


Since becoming a mom, what I miss most is my sometimes days long love affair with a book. A real pages and smells musty if old, book. That uninterrupted reading, that journey to someone’s elses mindscape. That adventure to a yet unchartered to me world. All the new and fascinating use of the English, Afrikaans and Spanish I can read in.

 What I miss second-most is uninterrupted writing. Good writing, silly writing, writing so I don’t kill someone writing, focused writing because I want to write and sell lots of stories, writing. That is an ambition of mine if you didn’t know.

Today I have help. She’s playing with the kids and I’m stealing a daylight moment to write here to remind myself nothing gets written unless you write it. Regardless of how frantically distracted a mother is constantly.

 

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

